The Monmouth Constituency

The Monmouth constituency is one of eight constituencies covering the preserved county of Gwent. It is considered as a rural constituency with many small towns and villages lying within its boundaries. The major towns of the constituency are Abergavenny, Chepstow, Monmouth and Usk; and covers most of current local authority of Monmouthshire, and a small part of the local authority of Torfaen.

The Westminster seat has existed under its current form since 1918 and has been represented by both Conservative and Labour MPs. Since the creation of the Assembly, Monmouth has been represented only by Conservative Assembly Members, the only seat in Wales which can make this claim.

The constituency consists of:

The County of Monmouthshire electoral divisions: Caerwent, Cantref, Castle, Croesonen, Crucorney, Devauden, Dixton with Osbaston, Drybridge, Goytre Fawr, Grofield, Lansdown, Larkfield, Llanbadoc, Llanelly Hill, Llanfoist Fawr, Llangybi Fawr, Llanover, Llantilio Crossenny, Llanwenarth Ultra, Mardy, Mitchel Troy, Overmonnow, Priory, Raglan, St Arvans, St Christopher’s, St Kingsmark, St Mary’s, Shirenewton, Thornwell, Trellech United, Usk and Wyesham.

The County Borough of Torfaen electoral divisions: Croesyceiliog North, Croesyceiliog South, Llanyrafon East and Ponthir and Llanyrafon West.

Election Member of Parliament Party
1918 Leolin Forestier-Walker Conservative
1934 by-election John Herbert Conservative
1939 by-election Leslie Pym Conservative
1945 by-election Peter Thorneycroft Conservative
1966 Donald Anderson Labour
1970 Sir John Stradling Thomas Conservative
1991 by-election Huw Edwards Labour
1992 Roger Evans Conservative
1997 Huw Edwards Labour
2005 – present David T.C. Davies Conservative
Election National Assembly for Wales Party
1999 David T.C. Davies Conservative
2007 – present Nicholas Ramsay Conservative

There is a total of 65,432 electors.

The constituency has been represented by David T C Davies MP since the 2005 General Election (House of Commons, Westminster); and by Nick Ramsay AM since the 2007 Assembly Election (National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff).